HELP WITH BOREDOM EATING

If you were to look on internet search engines for the term Boredom Eating, you will find pages and pages of listings for why it occurs and how to overcome it. According to Merriam-Webster.com, the dictionary definition of boredom is, “the state of being weary and restless through a lack of interest.” Boredom is simply a lack of internal motivation or interest. So if you lack motivation and/or interest to do WHATEVER IT TAKES morally, ethically, and in a healthy manner to achieve the wellness that you desire.  Planning your mealtimes and snacks, being mindful of your emotions, exterior and internal triggers, and staying focused on the benefits and consequences of good and bad health choices will help you to overcome the issue of boredom eating. Knowing that each individual will need to discover his or her own way to overcome this common issue of boredom eating, please complete the following exercises. As always, communicate thoroughly, honestly, and “dig deep” to find your own answers.

Exercise: In the space below, list at least three occasions where you may find yourself engaging in boredom eating.

Examples:

  • I engage in boredom eating after a long day of work when I get home. I turn the TV on, and eat mindlessly while watching my favorite shows.
  • I engage in boredom eating at work. There are times when there are no customers to assist and/or duties to conduct, and I find myself “automatically” reaching for the bag of chips and candy.
  • I often engage in boredom eating during my college class. The lectures do not interest me at times, and I find myself “automatically” reaching for the candy in my purse and even bring chips into class sometimes to “prepare” for the boredom about to occur.
  • I am a homemaker who spends hours at home alone every day. I do what is needed around the house, run errands for the family and prepare meals. I find myself engaging in boredom eating when everything is done for the day and I am waiting for my family to get home.
  • I am an educator and get extensive time off for breaks and holidays. Although I still have lesson plans, grading and other duties to conduct, I find myself engaging in boredom eating when I complete the tasks I have to do in the day.

Now it is your turn:

            1.

 

            2.

 

            3.

 

            4.

 

            5.

Exercise: In the space below, please list how you may overcome the issue of boredom eating based on the answers that you listed above. Please communicate thoroughly and honestly. Make the answers reflect your own personal needs to reach your goal of wellness and a healthy weight. Please list at least five.

Examples:

  • To overcome the issue of unhealthy boredom eating after I get home from work, I will have a plan to eat a healthy snack before I sit down to watch TV. I will also dispose of ALL unhealthy food options in the house to eliminate the temptation to eat in an unhealthy manner.
  • To overcome the issue of unhealthy boredom eating at work, I will only bring healthy snacks to work and stay focused on my goals of wellness and a healthier weight by writing my goals daily, understand the impact that healthy and unhealthy choices have on me and the ones who love me, and ask my best personal trainer to hold me accountable for my food choices at work, home, and in social environments. I will be honest with him or her about all of my food choices.
  • To overcome my unhealthy practice of classroom boredom eating, I will bring only healthy snacks to class. I will write my goals of wellness and bodyweight and use them as wallpaper for my college laptop, and ask my school friends to challenge me in a respectable way to make good food choices.
  • I will overcome the unhealthy practice of boredom eating while waiting for my family to get home by increasing my exercise. I will recognize when I am “automatically” about to engage in boredom eating and put an exercise video in the DVD player and do the workout. I will also go for a walk, read, or call a friend who can challenge me in a respectable manner to eat healthy.
  • I will overcome the unhealthy practice of boredom eating after my school duties are completed by going for a ride on my bike. I also like to knit, read, and complete projects in the garden and around the house. I will recognize when I am automatically engaging in boredom eating and distract myself with other, healthier activities that I like.

Now it is your turn:

            1.

 

            2.

            3.

 

            4.

 

            5.

 

I hope this helps you if you suffer from boredom eating or other forms of overeating. Please take care of your health today. There is nothing more important. BE YOUR OWN MIRACLE!

www.miraclesofphoenixfitness.com

Leave a Reply

