HOW TO OVERCOME THE UNHEALTHY BARRIER OF COMPARING YOURSELF TO OTHERS

Thankfully we are not all the same. Each one of us have our own unique gifts, qualities, genetic traits, tastes, skin tones, accents, and other features that makes us individuals. The same is true for our fitness levels, weight loss issues, and overall health status. A common barrier to achieving optimal wellness is the belief that someone else is the same as you. We all have different chemical makeups, strengths, hormone levels and other traits that make us different, especially when it comes to weight loss. Some people “can eat anything” and never gain weight; some can lose weight faster than others despite what feels like a greater effort, and still more never have to exercise and still look great. What gives? Comparing yourself to others and feeling as though you have received an “unfair hand” from the “weight loss Gods” is a fast recipe for failure. It is NEVER you versus them. It is only YOU VERSUS YOU!

Take your time and think clearly when doing the following exercises designed to help you manage the unhealthy pattern of comparing yourself to others.

Exercise: In the space below, list at least three people who you may currently or in the future compare yourself to when it comes to weight loss, wellness, or overall fitness. It may be someone who you are exercising with, a spouse or partner, someone at the office or in the gym etc. Do not give names merely generalizations. In addition to who you compare yourself to, list how you compare yourself to this person.

Examples:

I compare myself to my husband because he can lose weight much easier than I can and he eats everything bad. The reason I compare myself to him is because I wish I could eat like he does and still lose weight. It is not fair.

I compare myself to the lady I work with because she is older than  me and can run a 5k 10 minutes faster than I can. I should be able to do at least as good as her.

I compare myself to the guy at the gym because he is able to work out with regularity every day. My schedule does not permit to train as much as he does.

Now it is your turn:

 

More (if necessary):

 

 

Exercise: In the space below, list any differences that may exist between you and the person you are or may compare yourself to. This could include physical differences, occupational or financial differences, gender differences or any other difference that could influence your decision to compare yourself to this individual.

Examples:

The differences between my husband and I are gender, metabolism, and genetics.

The differences between the lady at my job and I is that she may be older but she has been running since middle school and never stopped.

The difference between the guy at the gym who is able to work out on a more regular basis is that after talking to him I learned that he actually works more hours than I do but makes exercise a priority every day regardless of schedule.

Now it is your turn:

            1.

2.

3.

4.

 

            5.

 

More (if necessary):

 

 

 

Exercise: In the space below, list how the differences you have listed above may impact the individual you compare yourself to in a positive way. In other words, what makes it easier or an advantage so he or she can achieve the wellness, weight, or fitness level you desire? In addition, list how you can see the individuals you listed as well as yourself in a healthier and more positive manner when it comes to his or her “advantage.”

Examples:

  1. My husband’s gender and family genetics enable him to lose weight faster than me. Because of hormones that are more predominant in most males it is easier for him to build lean muscle mass faster than me. This plus his family history of fast metabolism helps his weight loss occur faster than mine.
  2. The female coworker who is older than me but runs much faster than I do has made the decision to continue running for the past twenty years.
  3. The advantage the man at the gym and his ability to work out more frequently is his decision to make exercise a priority, manage his time to allow himself time for his health care, and setting boundaries with himself and others to avoid distractions and activities that would make exercise more difficult for him.

Now it is your turn:

            1.

 

 

            2.

 

 

            3.

 

           

            4.

 

 

            5.

 

 

Exercise: In the space below, list how you may overcome the “disadvantage” that you have with the person you are or may be comparing yourself to. Please list at least five.

Examples:

  • I can accept that I am my own unique person and everyone is different.
  • I can stay aware that there are others with the same or even greater disadvantages than me who have been able to achieve the wellness and weight they desired.
  • I can accept that I may have to work harder and eat “cleaner” than some people but I am willing to do it because I really want to reach my goals of health and weight.
  • I can realize that my “inner strength” and desire are my advantages.
  • I will be happy for the person who has the “advantages” that I compare myself to. I will reach my goal of health and weight NO MATTER WHAT and focus on what I need to do and not others.

Now it is your turn:

            1.

 

            2.

 

            3.

 

            4.

 

            5.

The above “barriers” section includes common barriers for weight loss. Do you have any personal barriers not listed above that are not physical and only mindset or outlook related? In other words how do you sabotage yourself? If so, please list them below.

Outlook and mindset are SO IMPORTANT in weight loss. The way we see exercise, nutrition, slow progress and other weight loss impacting areas will HUGELY influence your ability to reach your health and weight goals. This section is only designed to bring insight to you and how you can damage your own progress. It is of the utmost importance to learn to recognize when we are doing this to ourselves. At this point in the workbook, ONLY learn to recognize when this is occurring. The coming chapters will address and provide tools to change the mindset.

IT IS NEVER TOO LATE TO CREATE A LEAN AND HEALTHY BODY! I PERSONALLY HAVE WITNESSED SEVERAL PEOPLE LOSE NEARLY 100 POUNDS WELL AFTER AGE 60, AND KEEP IT OFF. THEY WERE ALL VERY DETERMINED TO ACHIEVE GOOD HEALTH AND PERFORMED ACCORDINGLY, AS YOU CAN TOO. SO PLEASE, BEGIN NOW TO ADDRESS YOUR HEALTH/WEIGHT ISSUES!   BE YOUR OWN MIRACLE!

 www.miraclesofphoenixfitness.com

Leave a Reply

