Be YOUR Own Healthy Life!

BYHLebookcover

It has been a few weeks since I have shared research, experience, and opinions with you. It is not like I did not have something to share as I always study and rarely have little to say as some of you know (Can I lol on a blog?). In fact, I have learned more about life and health in the final 60 days of 2014 than I did in the previous 305. As you are aware, I believe in living a healthy life mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually. ALL are interrelated and care of each one is vital to being healthy in all of them. I have spent the last four years studying what makes a person healthy and strong for decades and the last year writing about it. The final two months of 2014 were very challenging but so educational from a health perspective for me and in the coming days I will share what I have learned.

Lesson One: My Dog

Although I am genius in every other way (lol again), I am not mechanically inclined. We can discuss that later but my issue today is my dog’s harness. Every morning as I would prepare to take Zeus out for his run, I would try to figure out the engineering of the harness and often put it on wrong, leaving him looking like a weirdly harnessed wiener (he’s a wiener dog). It would still do the job and he was safe but as the mornings passed my frustration grew and began to turn into anxiety every time I put the harness on him. I could see it was affecting Zeus and could feel it was affecting me. The first 35 years of my life when things became hard my first inclination was to quit or give up. I took jobs that were conforming and cultivated relationships that did not challenge me to grow. If it was hard I quit. And this time with the harness I did the same thing. I quit. Called the harness stupid and threw it on the ground…. And then I picked it up and calmly, placed it on Zeus properly and went for a run. Did a lightning bolt come and strike me and I became a MIT engineer and was able to figure out the stupid harness? No I learned what I often teach and here is what it is:

  1. I have conditioned myself since early childhood how to respond to stress. I now recognize my autopilot and even genetic responses and now quickly alter the talk within myself to a healthier one. From a health perspective, anxiety, racing and ruminating thoughts are not good for us physically. Calm is healthier. Change the talk within yourself and learn how to manage autopilot responses for a healthier overall life.
  2. External things do not control internal responses. Zeus is anxious and I would try and try to calm him. When I became responsible for the healthchoice of calming my panic, he also calmed. We can never control external events or people but we can control the way we respond. Know that if you are internally connected to what is healthy you will not allow what is externally unhealthy to bother you for too long. Learn to recognize that you are in control.
  3. Understand that what we do affects others. I was making Zeus more nervous as I became crazier with the harness from hell. Everything we do from a health perspective affects those around us. If it is getting overly emotional, eating unhealthy foods, not exercising, or failing to address things that affect our health negatively it will eventually affect someone you love. Address your mental, physical, and emotionally unhealthy practices for someone you love!
  4. It is okay to be uncomfortable. In order to get that harness on Zeus I had to let go of the comfort I had with giving up easily when things were hard. It is an automatic response for me and easy to do. When I am open to “working through” tough points in any area of life it helps me work through the tough points in other areas. KEEP TRYING!

All of the above things helped me be healthier. By taking responsibility for my health choices, changing my self-talk, recognizing that I affect others, and staying resilient I am now able to calmly run with Zeus. I am also able to calmly work my way through unhealthy food cravings, trying to talk myself out of exercise, having a negative outlook toward life, and justifying things that do not serve my health. It is healthy to be happy, calm, and fulfilled in life. Exercise. Take responsibility for physically unhealthy negative emotions. Eat to serve your health. BE YOUR OWN MIRACLE!

The Build YOUR Healthy Life Program will be released January 12th. I am so excited.

Miracles of Phoenix Fitness Owner Coe Kirby MC combines evidence based behavioral health research with 12+ years as a personal trainer to provide the most extensive lifestyle modification program for mental and physical wellbeing in America. He has helped hundreds of people overcome self-defeating behaviors and achieve goals of all levels. His unique style, Master’s Degree in Counseling and skill set as a personal trainer make him comfortable to be open with while pursuing the growth or change you desire. Knowing that each individual is different with where they are in the change process, he guides the client on a journey of self-discovery that helps the individual learn his or her own method to success while giving strong support and proven tools to assist them. His two books, Your Health is Your Wealth: Working Out the Inner Self For a Fit Outer Self and Rebuilding Your Temple From the Inside Out have helped people from all walks of life learn how to create healthier lifestyles for themselves and their families. Both books are available through http://www.miraclesofphoenixfitness.com.  Good luck on your health journey!

Leave a Reply

