MY RUNNING WEINER

I take my wiener dog Zeus out for a little morning run early every day. Some days I only run/walk with him 1.5-1.8 miles and at least two other days I run with him, drop him off, and head out for some more miles alone. He is so happy every morning when I put my running shoes on and grab his harness. He is only “part wiener” and has legs like a terrier (we don’t know what he is mixed with) so he is able to run a couple of miles without any problem. After putting on my running belt and deciding which playlist to use, we head out the door for our run. Just approaching the door my wiener gets excited (Zeus that is-had to do that once) and he begins to shake his tail rapidly in anticipation. As we begin our run, Zeus pulls on the harness indicating he is wanting to run and for me to pick up my pace. As we are running he scans the area and appears to be smiling as he speeds out just ahead of me. He obviously enjoys the experience and makes the most of every moment that he is out there.

Self-Talk and Health

This morning when I dropped Zeus off to continue a longer run I began to tell myself that I could go later, that I wasn’t feeling up to more miles, and I could go back to bed. My history says that I will not complete the run later in the day and to always get my run in before the day starts. My talk to myself says that I can do it later and the bed is warm. The mental tennis match continued for several minutes until I finally head out for the run. It ended up being a great run and beautiful morning.

My Weiner is an Exception

I had a short discussion with one of my clients the other day about enjoying exercise. Zeus gets up in the morning and is happily ready for his run but I am not always. I speak to many people on a regular basis about the outlook toward exercise. I do not believe that we have to get so excited that we are jumping for joy about going to exercise. I do believe that we have to see a benefit and for me it is the way that I feel after exercise. I feel as though I have accomplished something early in the day which starts my day off good. My mind is clear, feels calm and happy. Going back out for the run after trying to talk myself out of it helps me to learn how to work through the problems of the day and helps me to understand the barriers that I believe I have are placed on me only by me. Using running and exercise to push away my self-imposed barriers have led me to working through problems in business, lose 125+ pounds, graduate with honors and earn a Master’s Degree after failing out of college seven times, and achieve things that I never believed to be possible at many points in my life. You do not have to be excited like Zeus but it is so important to dispute the self-talk you have when it comes to talking yourself out of exercise. See the benefits of it; the way you feel, move, and think, and the accomplishment for the day that you have earned. You do not have to be Zeus but please….BE YOUR OWN MIRACLE!

Miracles of Phoenix Fitness Owner Coe Kirby combines evidence based behavioral health research with 12+ years as a personal trainer to provide the most extensive lifestyle modification program for mental and physical wellbeing in America. He has helped hundreds of people overcome self-defeating behaviors and achieve goals of all levels. His unique style and skill set as a personal trainer and life coach make him comfortable to be open with while pursuing the growth or change you desire. Knowing that each individual is different with where they are in the change process, he guides the client on a journey of self-discovery that helps the individual learn his or her own method to success while giving strong support and proven tools to assist them. His two books, Your Health is Your Wealth: Working Out the Inner Self For a Fit Outer Self and Rebuilding Your Temple From the Inside Out have helped people from all walks of life learn how to create healthier lifestyles for themselves and their families. Both books are available through http://www.miraclesofphoenixfitness.com.  Good luck on your health journey!

Leave a Reply

