Happy Health!

I like to be happy. For many years I was not. I worked in jobs that I did well at but was ultimately miserable and unfulfilled. I did things after my unfulfilling job that was also unfulfilling. I would spend time after the 8-10 hour misery with 4-5 hours of unfulfilling activity like watching TV, ingesting endless amounts of bad food and drink, and living each day as a revolving door of “doing what I needed to do” instead of creating a happy life. I write about health topics and there is nothing more healthy than being happy in ALL aspects of life. There is a growing movement in the world of psychology that is moving away from helping people become “less depressed and anxious” to actually living in full happiness and peace. It is called “living your flow.” And before you think you have to quit your job and move to a commune in the mountains somewhere, think again. You can do it starting today right where you are. It is time to create your own flow of happiness. Happiness and peace are created from outlook, pleasures, and gratifications. What does that mean? I can give you some suggestions but it will be individual things that fit you. There are many people who get pleasure from spending time playing with their pets. For me personally I love watching my dog play at the dog park. He runs and appears to be smiling while he is there. We also get gratification by caring for our pets. Other things that give me pleasure are playing on the swings (I laugh uncontrollably), listening to positive music, and going on a date with my wife. Gratification is also important. We can get this from service to others, reaching exercise goals, taking a class, caring for plants and animals, and from creative projects that we enjoy. I know people that enjoy building engines and others who love to do beaded work. The choice is yours. If are struggling with unhappiness or lack of satisfaction it is probably time to look at creating a flow of pleasures and gratifications. The more you INTENTIONALLY do things that bring you joy and that are gratifying the better you will cope with stress and life events.And of course outlook means everything. Live life with purpose and intentional flow that you see as a benefit and not as punishment. I am a huge advocate of exercise for physical and emotional health. I am a bigger advocate of being happy in life. Find your flow to be happy and HEALTHY!  Be your own miracle!

Leave a Reply

